Thursday, July 31, 2014

Review #1698 How to Lose a Lemur by Frann Preston-Gannon



Review: 1698
Book: How to Lose a Lemur
Author: Frann Preston-Gannon
Rating: two stars (out of four)
Release date: October 5, 2013
Publisher: Pavilion Children's Books
Pages: 32
Source: Barnes & Noble
Goodreads 

I picked up this book because I think lemurs are darling creatures and you don't usually see them featured in books. The story was pretty simple, but it was sweet and had a nice ending. I would have liked a little bit more drama, but that's probably just me. I did really like the illustrations. I'd probably recommend.

Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Review #1697 This Is a Moose by Richard T. Morris


Review: #1697
Book: This Is a Moose
Author: Richard T. Morris
Illustrator: Tom Lichtenheld
Rating: two stars (out of four)
Release date: May 6, 2014
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Source: Barnes & Noble
Goodreads

The cover caught my attention straight away. The story was pretty entertaining and I liked how the moose was not cooperating correctly, or at least, according to how a normal moose would behave. I did like the illustrations as well.

Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Review #1696 Gaston by Kelly DiPucchio




Review: #1696
Book: Gaston
Author: Kelly DiPucchio
Illustrator: Christian Robinson
Rating: two stars (out of four)
Release date: June 3, 2014
Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Source: Barnes & Noble
Goodreads

It's hard to just walk by this book without wanting to pick it up and read it. The cover is pretty cute, and I'm not even a dog person. I did enjoy the illustrations and thought they definitely lived up to the cuteness of the cover. The story was pretty entertaining and I thought the storyline was amusing. I'd recommend.

Monday, July 28, 2014

Review #1695 Chengdu Could Not, Would Not, Fall Asleep by Barney Saltzberg



Review: #1695
Book: Chengdu Could Not, Would Not, Fall Asleep
Author: Barney Saltzberg
Rating: two stars (out of four)
Release date: May 6, 2014
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 40
Source: Barnes and Noble
Goodreads 

I picked up the book because of the cute cover and it looked like it would be an amusing read. I did enjoy the illustrations and thought they suited the book perfectly. And while I definitely found the panda's insomnia amusing, it didn't quite add up to a complete story for me. I did really appreciate the fun fold out elements throughout the book and I think most kids will get a kick out of that feature. The ending was also pretty funny. A recommend, but not an instant favorite.

Sunday, July 27, 2014

MOCKINGJAY TEASER TRAILER

Our first look at Mockingjay Part 1. All I can say is that November cannot come soon enough.




Though I do wish Peeta and Finnick had made an appearance in this...

Review #1694 The Monsters' Monster by Patrick McDonnell





Review: #1694
Book: The Monsters' Monster
Author: Patrick McDonnell
Rating: two stars (out of four)
Release date: September 4, 2012
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Source: Library


Of course I'm going to pick up any other book Patrick McDonnell writes. Me...Jane was SO GOOD. This book, however, wasn't an instant fav. I did love the illustrations for and thought they were really cute. I also loved how the "monster" the three little guys created reacted to things quite differently than they had expected. The ending was a little too wrapped up...maybe too neat for my tastes? I don't know, I'm probably just being picky. It was a fun book.

Saturday, July 26, 2014

Review #1693 Sleep Like a Tiger by Mary Logue

Review: #1693
Book: Sleep Like a Tiger
Author: Mary Logue
Illustrator: Pamela Zagarenski
Rating: Two stars (out of four)
Release date: October 23, 2012
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Source: Library
Goodreads

This was an interesting take on putting kids to sleep. It was quite different from what I had expected, but I still enjoyed it. The illustrations were great. There was a lot of detail infused on each drawing and I loved the color and style. But the pictures weren't overdone, they were subtle and still highly animated. I'm not sure how well it would have put me to sleep as a child, but I think other people will really enjoy it. I can see why it won a Caldecott Honor.

Sunday, July 20, 2014

18 Quirky Literary Items You Can Buy On Etsy - A Buzzfeed List

I've dabbled into the world of Buzzfeed and created a post that all book lovers should enjoy! And it was selected by the Buzzfeed editors to go TO THE FRONT PAGE. Yeah, I was stoked.

It features items from Harry Potter, The Fault in Our Stars, Sherlock, Game of Thrones, Emily Dickinson, and many more. I've included a small sampling of the items, but to see the full list you should check it out here!