Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Summer Giveaway Hop #2!


I'm participating in a hop hosted by I Am A Reader, Not A Writer and Mary from Book Hounds which runs from August 1-7th. You guys really seemed to like having the option of choosing your book, so I'm doing it again! I have 3 books up for grabs!

You can pick either Incarnate by Jodi Meadows or The Gathering Storm by Robin Bridges or Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers!

So, without further ado, here's the cover art and brief synopsis of the books you get to choose from!

Book #1
Incarnate by Jodi Meadows
Published January 31st, 2012

New soul

Ana is new. For thousands of years in Range, a million souls have been reincarnated over and over, keeping their memories and experiences from previous lifetimes. When Ana was born, another soul vanished, and no one knows why.

No soul

Even Ana's own mother thinks she's a nosoul, an omen of worse things to come, and has kept her away from society. To escape her seclusion and learn whether she'll be reincarnated, Ana travels to the city of Heart, but its citizens are afraid of what her presence means. When dragons and sylph attack the city, is Ana to blame?

Heart

Sam believes Ana's new soul is good and worthwhile. When he stands up for her, their relationship blooms. But can he love someone who may live only once, and will Ana's enemies—human and creature alike—let them be together? Ana needs to uncover the mistake that gave her someone else's life, but will her quest threaten the peace of Heart and destroy the promise of reincarnation for all?

Jodi Meadows expertly weaves soul-deep romance, fantasy, and danger into an extraordinary tale of new life.

*Taken from Goodreads. Check out the book HERE.


Book #2
Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers
Published April 3rd, 2012

Why be the sheep, when you can be the wolf?

Seventeen-year-old Ismae escapes from the brutality of an arranged marriage into the sanctuary of the convent of St. Mortain, where the sisters still serve the gods of old. Here she learns that the god of Death Himself has blessed her with dangerous gifts—and a violent destiny. If she chooses to stay at the convent, she will be trained as an assassin and serve as a handmaiden to Death. To claim her new life, she must destroy the lives of others.

Ismae’s most important assignment takes her straight into the high court of Brittany—where she finds herself woefully under prepared—not only for the deadly games of intrigue and treason, but for the impossible choices she must make. For how can she deliver Death’s vengeance upon a target who, against her will, has stolen her heart?

*Taken from Goodreads. Check out the book HERE.


Book #3


The Gathering Storm by Robin Bridges
Published January 10th, 2012

St. Petersburg, Russia, 1888. As she attends a whirl of glittering balls, royal debutante Katerina Alexandrovna, Duchess of Oldenburg, tries to hide a dark secret: she can raise the dead. No one knows. Not her family. Not the girls at her finishing school. Not the tsar or anyone in her aristocratic circle. Katerina considers her talent a curse, not a gift. But when she uses her special skill to protect a member of the Imperial Family, she finds herself caught in a web of intrigue.

An evil presence is growing within Europe's royal bloodlines—and those aligned with the darkness threaten to topple the tsar. Suddenly Katerina's strength as a necromancer attracts attention from unwelcome sources . . . including two young men—George Alexandrovich, the tsar's standoffish middle son, who needs Katerina's help to safeguard Russia, even if he's repelled by her secret, and the dashing Prince Danilo, heir to the throne of Montenegro, to whom Katerina feels inexplicably drawn.

The time has come for Katerina to embrace her power, but which side will she choose—and to whom will she give her heart?

*Taken from Goodreads. Check out the book HERE.

Just enter the form below to enter! And you can friend me on Goodreads for an optional entry. Good luck and happy reading!

Book Trailer Tuesday [18]

I thought this trailer did a nice job of mixing computer graphics with text and music to create something very animated and not as stilted as other trailers I've watched. The feel of the video was pretty neat too. It offered a brief glimpse of what the book might entail and I might just have to read it. Plus I kind of liked the cover art too. The book just came out a few weeks ago, July 10th and was published by HarperCollins. Have you read it? What'd you think?

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Book Trailer Tuesday [17]

Well, the trailer doesn't give a lot of information away and I was a little disappointed in that, BUT it does hint at exciting things (Movie? Veronica Roth likes it?) and the trailer is definitely different than I imagined the book...And when I read Insignia I was hooked. It reminded me of Enders Game WITHOUT feeling like they had totally stolen from that plot. It's a pretty thrilling read. If you haven't heard of it, maybe this trailer will help pique your interest. Sci/fi fans should definitely check this book out.

Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Book Trailer Tuesday [16]

I've been seeing these books around Goodreads and other blogs and I just added them to my to-read list. The graphics were kind of fun in this book and brought the covers to life for a brief snapshot. I also liked the combined book trailer for the two books. Have you read this book?

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Book Trailer Tuesday [15]

This book won a Newbery Honor this year - so when I saw the trailer I was intrigued. This video has a different format than most book trailers, but I kind of liked it. It's been a while since I've read a good historical fiction book. What's your opinion on the trailer, like it? love it? apathetic?

Saturday, July 7, 2012

Book Review #1341 Chowder by Peter Brown



Book Review #1341
Chowder by Peter Brown
Rating: two stars (out of four)

This was a pretty entertaining read, albeit a little wacky. The dog had weird mannerisms and it wasn't fully explained why he was so different. But that didn't matter as much as Chowder finding friends who could appreciate him. It did strike me as a little odd that he didn't get along with the neighborhood dogs...but he got along with the farm animals. The illustrations were pretty amusing, but I don't see myself reading this book over and over again.

Friday, July 6, 2012

Book Review #1340 Blowin' in the Wind by Bob Dylan



Book Review #1340
Blowin' in the Wind with song lyrics by Bob Dylan, illustrated by Jon J Muth
Rating: two stars (out of four)

This book was okay, I'm not a big Bob Dylan fan, so maybe it'd be more meaningful for someone familiar with his music. I appreciated the illustrator note that included Jon J Muth's personal connection with the song and why he wanted to share it with younger readers. I liked the illustrations; they were thoughtful and contemplative. While I wouldn't say that this was a wonderful read, it was still enjoyable and I might recommend it.

Thursday, July 5, 2012

Book Review #1339 Big Cat Pepper by Elizabeth Partridge



Book Review #1339
Big Cat Pepper by Elizabeth Partridge, illustrated by Lauren Castillo
Rating: two stars (out of four)

I can see the point of this book, but I just didn't think it did a good job of conveying the loss of a pet. The rhymes were kind of choppy and cliche. I was annoyed with some of the repition and felt like it was used as an attempt to make the text flow better, but it just got on my nerves. The pictures were pretty good - I enjoyed looking at each page, but it was hard to stomach when it was mixed with the story's message. It was pretty much touch and go with this book, but mostly go.

Wednesday, July 4, 2012

Book Review #1338 The Zoo by Suzy Lee



Book Review #1338
The Zoo by Suzy Lee
Rating: two stars (out of four)

My favorite aspect of this book was the colorful pencil drawings of the little girl and the zoo animals. I liked the contrast between zoo the parents saw with the bleak colors and the zoo through the young girl's eyes. It was a fairly entertaining story and something I'd think children would enjoy, especially if they loved zoo settings. 

Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Book Trailer Tuesday [14]

I've had this book on my to-read list, but hadn't actually gotten around to reading it yet. Though this trailer makes it look pretty interesting. I like the striations of purples/blues/pinks and how it incorporates the cover. Have you read this book? What'd you think?