Thursday, December 31, 2009



Book Review #859
My Big Nose And Other Natural Disasters by Sydney Salter
Rating: one star (out of four)

There were some elements in this book that I thought were inappropriate and out of line with the plot. While I found parts of this story amusing and humorous I couldn't get over some of the unsavory factors and that is the reason this book got such a low rating. I liked the voice of Jory, but I wanted to see more of her personality, I felt like she wasn't developed as much as she could have been. I didn't like the majority of the guy characters. I didn't understand why they were cool or attractive and I wanted them to grow up. I also wasn't impressed with some of her friends either. I would not recommend this book, it's not worth your time.

Tuesday, December 29, 2009



Book Review #858
A Kiss In Time by Alex Flinn
Rating: one star (out of four)

This book was disappointing. I thought it was going to be a light and fun read, but because of some of the elements in the story and the way the characters were portrayed, I didn't enjoy it as much as I should have. I wasn't impressed with the two main characters and I felt like their personalities were a little under-developed. The story didn't flow smoothly and I felt like it distracted from the plot. I wouldn't recommend this book because of its lackluster qualities. There was also some questionable content and I didn't like how some of the characters acted.

Book Review #857
Princess Hyacinth by Florence Parry Heide, illustrated by Lane Smith
Rating: two stars (out of four)

This was an interesting take on the typical princess story. I love Lane Smith's illustrations and that was one of the major factors in why I checked this book out. It was a cute story, but it didn't leave a lasting impression. I would still recommend, especially for fans of unusual princess renditions.


Book Review #856
Puff The Magic Dragon by Peter Yarrow and Lenny Lipton, illustrated by Eric Puybaret
Rating: one star (out of four)

This book had such an intriguing cover, so I was kind of excited to read it. But when I read the first couple of pages, I felt my excitement fly away. It was a very simple story - too simple, in my mind. I also felt like the text could have elaborated more and some of the lines were repeated several times. The illustrations were sweet, but because they weren't fully supported by the story, it was a let down. I wouldn't recommend this book.

Monday, December 28, 2009



Book Review #855
Coming Attractions by Robin Jones Gunn
Rating: three stars (out of four)

This book's ending kind of threw me for a loop. I won't give it away, but I was surprised. I have followed along with Katie and seen her ups and downs and so I was looking forward to a nice conclusion that would tie things up. I felt this book ended kind of abruptly, but once I got used to the idea I slowly began to like it...not love it, but it didn't ruin the entire series for me or anything drastic like that. It was definitely an interesting way to end the series.

I'm not sure I agree with some of the things in this book, but they didn't stop me from enjoying the story, it just made me ponder my own thoughts. I can't really go into much detail because it would give away too much of the plot, but they were mainly concerning relationships. I would still recommend the series though.



Book Review #854
On a Whim by Robin Jones Gunn
Rating: three stars (out of four)

I like seeing things from Katie's perspective after reading a whole series from the view point of her best friend Christy. Katie is spunky and somehow manages to get herself into a bunch of crazy situations and strange encounters. I enjoyed seeing how she got out of her messes and who she met along the way. There were a couple of characters in this book that I was a little confused as to why they were hanging around, but I figured since there was still another book there was plenty of time for the author to explain later. I'm not really sure how I feel about Katie's relationship at this point...the third book will hopefully set everything right. I would recommend this book.


Book Review #853
Peculiar Treasures by Robin Jones Gunn
Rating: three stars (out of four)

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It had enough action to keep the pace moving swiftly and I could relate to how Katie was feeling and why she was so frustrated in her relationship. There were parts that made me smile, because I could see the characters so vividly and their struggles were real. There was just the right amount of spiritual content so that it was evident that Katie lead a godly life, but it didn’t come across as preachy. I’d recommend this book.



Book Review #852
The Boy Who Was Raised By Librarians by Carla Morris, illustrated by Brad Sneed
Rating: two stars (out of four)

I really liked the sentiments of this book. It reminded me of my childhood: I practically lived at the library, and I knew where all my favorite books were on each shelf. The reason this book didn't get a higher rating was because I felt like there was a little something missing, something that would have made it fantastic. I couldn't quite put my finger on what was missing. I also didn't care for the illustrations, they distracted me from the story. I still might recommend this book.

Friday, December 25, 2009




Book Review #851
A Season Of Gifts by Richard Peck
Rating: three stars (out of four)

While I really enjoyed this book and thought the humor was well done, I just didn’t like it as much as some of the other novels I had read by this author. I felt like it wasn’t as funny as A Long Way From Chicago and A Year Down Yonder. But I did appreciate getting another look at Mrs. Dowdel and her crazy ways. This story made me laugh a couple of times, but it wasn't one of those books where each page was hilarious. I liked the message and how Richard Peck wove a story that kept me reading and wanting to find out what would happen next. I would recommend.

Tuesday, December 22, 2009



Book Review #850
The Good Neighbors by Holly Black, illustrated by Ned Naifeh
Rating: one star (out of four)

I was really not impressed with this book. Some parts of it were highly unbelievable and I wondered why they thought we wouldn’t notice these gaps in the narration. Illustrations are nice when they work to perfectly match the text, this book, however, sometimes failed in its attempts. Some of the pictures in this book really threw me for a loop, because I thought the face the character had was completely disproportionate to what they were thinking or saying. Some pictures were just ugly or made the character look stupid. I also wasn’t impressed with the character development of the minor characters. The author also left several loose ends hanging all over the place, and I don’t know if it assumed you will read the sequel to find out more (nope!). When you just leave random bits of information, then the reader tends to get annoyed because you aren’t explaining enough. I also didn’t like how they portrayed some of the female characters, it was sexist and demoralizing, like all that mattered was their bodies. Please, we need to have more respect than that. All in all, I was left confused with some of the plot, the characters were poorly developed, and I did not enjoy the story. I would not recommend this book.



Book Review #849
The Summer Of Cotton Candy by Debbie Viguie
Rating: two stars (out of four)

This book was definitely more fluff-like then I would have wanted, but I was still entertained. I kept expecting the main character to switch her love interest, but she never did, and that puzzled me. I wasn’t sure that Kurt was good enough for her, and I wished that there was more depth to their relationship. There didn’t seem to be enough meat for this story as well. And coming from the experience of working at a theme park one whole summer, some of the things in this book seemed way far-fetched. I thought it was a little flakey as well. The ending wrapped up far too nicely and I didn’t understand why some things were so easy for the main character to get over. I enjoyed this book and will probably read the others in the series, but if you are looking for something with more substantial than you will have to look elsewhere. A nice beach read though.

Monday, December 21, 2009


Book Review #848
Skippyjon Jones Lost In Spice by Judy Schachner
Rating: four stars (out of four)

Ah! I love this book! Skippyjon Jones is muy, muy hilarious and always gets into the silliest and most far-fetched entertaining adventures. The illustrations are great; I can see the little siamese cat's face and understand what is going through his beeg head. There are a multitude of tongue twisters and tricky sentences that are simply hilarious to read out loud. I couldn't stand it, I had to go share it with someone. This book had me smiling like a fiend. If you need something to brighten your day, you definitely should pick up this book. It is one of my all time favorites and I highly recommend it.


Book Review #847
Elephants Cannot Dance! by Mo Willems
Rating: three stars (out of four)

This series always makes me smile! I love the interaction between the two characters and how Mo Willems always puts such a humorous twist at the end. The illustrations are so cute I could read this book over and over without getting bored. I also had a grand time looking for the pigeon hiding somewhere in the book. I would definitely recommend this book.

Sunday, December 20, 2009




Book Review #846
Sexy Girls: Hot Hot Is Too Hot? by Hayley DiMarco
Rating: four stars (out of four)

Hayley offers a fresh and humorous take on body image and the hold it has on teenage girls today. I liked how Hayley offered down-to-earth advice and still managed to put in funny little snippets and relevant scripture. Hayley's message was also understandable and convincing, I would definitely recommend this book to any girl who wanted to know the impact of how she dressed and see if she needed to change it.

Wednesday, December 16, 2009




Book Review #845
The Elements Of Style by William Strunk and E.B. White
Rating: four stars (out of four)

We used this book as a guide for one of my writing classes. I've already read this book before, but I feel like this is one book that you can read several times and still find prevalent information. I'm constantly forgetting simple grammar rules, so this serves as a quick refresher. It is such a small book it only takes a couple of hours to read. I'd highly recommend this book for anyone who is engaged in any writing task.



Book Review #844
The Norton Anthology Of Theory And Criticism edited by Vincent B. Leitch
Rating: one star (out of four)

This book was also for my lit crit class, but we only read a few essays and snippets from this huge anthology. Most of the readings I did not understand, though I would try to read the whole section, but I sometimes gave up. There were a couple of readings that I found interesting, but not enough to keep me from selling this book back.



Book Review #843
Texts And Contexts by Steven Lynn
Rating: three stars (out of four)

We read through this whole book for my Lit Crit class. I thought it did a fairly nice job of summarizing all the different types of literary criticism and I enjoyed the random cartoons throughout the book. I also thought it was funny because the tone of voice for the book was very casual and sounded a lot like my teacher, which is probably why he picked it for our course reading. I'd only recommend if you were interested in this subject.


Book Review #842
On Writing by Stephen King
Rating: three stars (out of four)

There were so many good writing tips in this book! I only read the second half, because that was required for my class, but I felt like I was soaking up knowledge with every chapter. Most of the advice King offered was sound and I tried to incorporate it into my writing. There were a couple instances where I didn't quite agree with what he was saying, but at least I could see from his point of view - it just wasn't the case for me. I enjoyed this book and would recommend if you wanted some tips for writing.


Book Review #841
Foundations Of Earth Science by Frederick K. Lutgens
Rating: three stars (out of four)

This was an informative book that nicely complimented the science class I was taking. It went along with the lectures and explained things in more detail. It had nice illustrations and tables and charts to break components down even further. Each chapter also included a list of terms you needed to know as well as a summary of that chapter. I liked it, but I didn't read all of it. I'd recommend if you needed it for class.


Book Review #840
If I Stay by Gayle Forman
Rating: two stars (out of four)

The concept for this book was incredibly intriguing. But while I was reading the book I felt like some of the characters were a little under-developed and I wished they had been more well-rounded. I thought it was an interesting twist to make it a family of hard-rockers with a daughter who just wanted to play classical music, but I felt like it could have been done with more elements of originality. There were parts of this book that made me smile, and parts that made me laugh - but it wasn't enough to give this book a higher rating. I wasn't sure that the relationship between Mia and her boyfriend was very realistic. I wasn't the biggest fan of the ending either. I also didn't like some of the older content that made this book not suitable for younger teens. I probably wouldn't recommend because of the objectionable content and story development.

Sunday, December 13, 2009



Book Review #839
Working With Words by Brian S. Brooks
Rating: two stars (out of four)

I read the first chapter of this book. It was long and tedious, filled with the proper usage of grammar and writing mechanics. And while I felt like it was pertinent information, it was hard to get through. Since it wasn't talked about or used in the class I was taking I gave up reading it. It also confused me a little because I have been learning the MLA format and this is the format for journalism and they have slightly different rules. I wouldn't recommend.


Book Review #838
No Sex In The City by Lindsey Isham
Rating: one star (out of four)

While I admire the author for writing about a tough issue for young adults, I felt there were times in this book where her advice was just a little off. She talked about some things that I don't think you need to know until you are on the verge of getting married - this is so you can keep yourself pure and not have your mind consumed with thoughts that might lead you astray. Some of the author's advice was good, and I definitely believe in having an accountability partner if you are struggling and want someone who can help guide you. I didn't appreciate some of the author's frankness or her worldly view of sex. I thought the intention of this book was good, but the follow-through in writing was a little misguided. I also didn't care for the tone it was written in, and I found a couple grammar mistakes while reading. I wouldn't recommend.

Thursday, December 10, 2009



Book Review #837
Telling The Story by The Missouri Group
Rating: three stars (out of four)

This was a very informative book. I thought it had a lot to teach, but I'm not sure if it will stand the test of time because the content inside is constantly changing - the use of the internet and such. I learned from this book, but it wasn't completely engaging and interesting. I thought it was a nicely condensed book featuring the field of communication though. I read all the chapters and it had exercises at the end of each one. I wouldn't recommend unless you needed it for class.

Monday, November 30, 2009



Book Review #836
The Deep by Helen Dunmore
Rating: two stars (out of four)

I liked this book almost as much as the second. I am glad the audience matured and the story felt more well-rounded than the first one. It was a little bit of a stretch for the plot sometimes, but I thoroughly enjoyed it and was dismayed to see that the sequel was not yet available in the USA. I'll be waiting. I'd probably recommend.

Saturday, November 28, 2009


Book Review #835
What I Know: Uncommon Wisdom And Universal Truths From 10-Year-Olds And 100-Year-Olds edited by Roger Fishman
Rating: two stars (out of four)

I was not impressed with this book. The wisdom wasn't as breathtaking as I would have liked and sometimes I put this book down because I was bored - and that is never a good thing. I had somehow gotten it into my head that this book would have witty bits of humor, but I didn't find any of that sort. It was a nice try and maybe it would appeal to someone else, but I just didn't care for this book and wouldn't recommend.


Book Review #834
The Tide Knot by Helen Dunmore
Rating: two stars (out of four)

I thought this story had more depth than the first book, and that was why I was on the verge of giving it the next star up - but I just didn't feel like it was quite up to those standards. The story was more mature and I felt like the characters had really grown up. I was excited to see where the author would take them and I liked how she expanded the character of the sea and made it a living, fearful thing. I enjoyed this book and would probably recommend.

Friday, November 27, 2009


Book Review #833
Mercy Watson: Something Wonky This Way Comes by Kate DiCamillo, illustrated by Chris Van Dusen
Rating: two stars (out of four)

Mercy Watson is at it again. In this delightful romp of a story Mercy proceeds to tear apart the drive-in. This book is sure to entertain children, with it's crazy fun names and colorful illustrations. I'd recommend this series.

Wednesday, November 25, 2009



Book Review #832
Ingo by Helen Dunmore
Rating: two stars (out of four)

I'm always intrigued by novels that incorporate mermaids and their interactions with people, so it is no surprise I picked up this book. I was a little disappointed with the content though. I wanted more answers than the story was willing to give. I felt like the reader was distanced from the characters, because I couldn't fully get into their heads and as a result I didn't enjoy them as much. The pull of the sea was a very interesting twist and I liked how the author handled it, it made me leery of the sea and also curious as to what it would do next. I might recommend.


Book Review #831
The Expressologist by Kristina Springer
Rating: two stars (out of four)

This was a cute book, but it still had some flaws. The characters were interesting, and while I enjoyed the interactions between them, I still felt as if some of their situations and trials were a little unbelievable. There were also a couple characters that I felt needed to be fleshed out a little more before I could like them. The story was predictable, but I enjoyed reading it. I might recommend it.

Sunday, November 22, 2009



Book Review #830
Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld, illustrated by Keith Thompson
Rating: four stars (out of four)

Initial thoughts: Ohmygoodness where is the next book? I love this world and all the characters. It reminded me of a steampunk version of Kenneth Oppel's Airborn. I pretty much sped through this book and when I got to the end I went, "No way! You can't end now!" Needless to say, this is one of my new favorites and I will definitely recommend it to my friends.

Review: Oh wow! I started this book and couldn't stop reading until I had read the whole thing! Scott Westerfeld has done it again by creating a whole new world with majestic characters and imaginative creatures. The book is also illustrated, which is only an added bonus. I think one of my favorite aspects of this book is the language Scott used, he incorporates everyday words into fantastic new ways and creates a different dialect that we can understand but still be immersed into this steampunk world. I loved this novel. There were so many crazy cool things throughout that I couldn't help but smile as I was reading. I am so excited for the next book in the series and hoping that I can bide my time until it comes out.

Sunday, October 18, 2009



Book Review #829
Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
Rating: four stars (out of four)

Initial thoughts: AAAHHH!! Where is the next book?! I mean, seriously - what am I supposed to do not knowing how everything ends and WHAT HAPPENS TO PEETA! Normally I am not a fan of love triangles and all, but it is so hard to choose between these two guys. In my heart I'm a total Peeta fan, but I can't help but think, "What about Gale?!" Suzanne Collins, I'm eagerly awaiting the next book...I'm waiting and twiddling my thumbs in what I hope is a patient manner.

Review: I am in love with these books. Just thinking about the story and Katniss and all that has happened makes my heart speed up. I don't know what I am going to do until the last book comes out. The story is so exciting, I never know what is going to happen next. My heart just breaks for Peeta. Several times throughout the book I would go, "No, don't treat Peeta like that! If you don't want him I'LL take him! He can just pop out of the book and be my friend..." I desperately wanted to know what happens next, though I'm scared at the same time. Something that is plaguing me to no end though, is this: what about Gale? My only conclusion is that one of them is going to die and I know MY heart will break if Peeta dies. But I'll still feel sorry for Gale if he doesn't get Katniss. Suzanne Collins?! What are you doing to me?

And the ending?! Complete KILLER! I read the last chapters with baited breathe and hoped that there would be some sort of conclusion, something I could grasp while I waited for the final book. But when I read the last page I screamed, "NO!! You can't stop there! I HAVE to know what happens!? Ah, is Peeta going to be okay? He has to be okay otherwise I WON'T be okay! I need to know what happens. Ah! How am I going to wait this long!?"

You've probably noticed the prolific use of caps in this review, but I couldn't seem to help it. I just get so fired up when I think about what is happening in this series and I can't seem to contain my enthusiasm. When I get my hands on a copy of the next book you best not bother me, for I will be reading it from start to finish. I haven't been this excited about a book series since the Uglies trilogy by Scott Westerfeld.

I would totally recommend this book, unless you are the sort of person who can't stand not knowing what happens next and starts pulling hair out from anxiety. Then I would recommend you buy the first two books and put them neatly on your bookshelf and wait until the third one came out. Once that has happened you are free to lock yourself in a closet with a flashlight and a couple bags of chips and water bottles for nurtition and you can read the entire series in one sitting with utterly no distractions whatsoever.

Thursday, October 15, 2009



Book Review #828
Forest Born by Shannon Hale
Rating: four stars (out of four)

Initial thoughts right after reading the book: AH! I love Shannon Hale! I am pulled into her novel through the vivid description and imagery of this enchanting land and characters. I laughed and had tears in my eyes, I thoroughly enjoyed this fantasy novel.

Review: Shannon Hale has such a way with writing that her sentences seem to dance across the page. I love her descriptions and I can always picture the scenery and particular expressions of the characters. While I didn't like this book as much as The Goose Girl I really enjoyed it and liked Rin and her struggles. I also love how Shannon magically worked in a plot twist you never would have dreamed of into the story and you are left going, "How did I not see that coming?!" It was nice to see some of my favorite older characters in this book as well, and I didn't realize until after I had finished the book that Rin didn't have a major boy she was into. But it didn't take away from the story...and only makes me assume that another book will be in the works? I would definitely recommend this book.

Monday, September 14, 2009



Book Review #827
Father Melancholy's Daughter by Gail Godwin
Rating: two stars (out of four)

I read this book for my Literary Criticism class, and throughout the semester we applied different types of literary criticism to the book. I really enjoyed the beginning of the book, it was compelling and I loved the author's poetic prose that described the details of the main character. Once we were out of Margaret's childhood though, I didn't like the book nearly as much as in the beginning. I felt like something was missing and I wished that we could go back to when she was only six years old. The ending was unsatisfactory and I felt like some of the plot details were a little too vague or over-simplified to make a quicker ending. I probably wouldn't recommend.

Friday, September 4, 2009



Book Review #826
I Promise by Robin Jones Gunn
Rating: two stars (out of four)

It was nice to see a conclusion to the love story between Todd and Christy and while I found this book entertaining, sometimes I found certain parts to be drawn-out or kind of boring. I agree with the message though and think there is a definite gap these books fill with their stance on purity and real relationships. I'd recommend.

Friday, August 21, 2009



Book Review #825
Boneman's Daughters by Ted Dekker
Rating: zero stars (out of four)

I did not like this book. Not in the least. In fact, this book was downright disturbing. The only reason I kept reading was because it was a Ted Dekker book and I know several people who like his novels. The Christian elements in this book were a little too far-fetched, or I needed someone to explain things to me, because I didn't get it. I couldn't read this book at night because it was too dark and disturbing. The characters weren't fully developed and I wasn't impressed with the writing style. There were several scenes that made me feel sick to my stomach and I couldn't believe some of the actions of the characters. The ending made absolutely no sense to me. I didn't see how it solved anything and I felt like there were a ton of loose ends. I would not recommend this book.

Wednesday, August 19, 2009



Book Review #824
Little Pierre by Robert D. San Souci, illustrated by David Catrow
Rating: two stars (out of four)

This tale was interesting.  I liked how all the pictures were vividly colorful and brought a whole new layer to the story.  Even though I enjoyed reading this book, it isn't anywhere near my favorites list.  I might recommend.

Book Review #823
Don't Take Your Snake For A Stroll by Karin Ireland, illustrated by David Catrow
Rating: two stars (out of four)

There was a lot of amusing tidbits in this book, but the entiretly wasn't nearly as amusing as it should have been.  Sure, parts of it were funny and I thought a lot of the illustrations were insanely comical, but some things just didn't click.  I might still recommend though.
Book Review #822
The Badger And The Magic Fan by Tony Johnston, illustrated by Tomie dePaola
Rating: one star (out of four)

There were a lot of elements of this story that were just plain bizarre and a little too far-fetched to make an enjoyable read.  Even though it was an interesting story, I couldn't get over some of the weirder details and wasn't satisfied when I finished reading.  I wouldn't recommend this book.


Book Review #821
Four Friends At Christmas by Tomie dePaola
Rating: two stars (out of four)

This was a fairly sweet tale about four crazy friends.  I liked the pictures and the ending was pretty cute, if not a little random.  I might recommend.


Book Review #820
The Holy Twins by Kathleen Norris, illustrated by Tomie dePaola
Rating: one star (out of four)

I found it hard to believe everything in this book.  I know that they wanted me to take some of the things that happened as fact, but I felt like that was a tad bit misleading.  I did think it was a good concept to tell more about these people from history, but I wasn't overly impressed with how they portrayed their lives.  I wouldn't recommend.


Book Review #819
Francis: The Poor Man Of Assisi by Tomie dePaola
Rating: one star (out of four)

I was not impressed with this book.  It is labeled as a non-fiction biography for children, but I think that is a bit of a stretch.  I don't know how many events in this book actually happened, but it seemed a little far-fetched to assume this is how the man really acted.  The illustrations were typical Tomie, but I couldn't enjoy them as much because of how the book was portrayed.
Book Review #818
The Family Christmas Tree Book by Tomie dePaola
Rating: two stars (out of four)

I liked how Tomie wove a story about one family's decorating traditions into a retelling of how Christmas trees came to be.  The illustrations were simple, but nice to look at.  I might recommend.


Book Review #817
Petook: An Easter Story by Caryll Houselander, illustrated by Tomie dePaola
Rating: two stars (out of four)

The message that this book was trying to convey was a good one, but unfortunately, I didn't feel like it did the best job.  I'm not sure children would get the significance of the story and I felt that parts of the story were a little unbelievable.  I did enjoy Tomie's illustrations though.  I'm not sure that I would recommend this book.


Book Review #816
An Early American Christmas by Tomie dePaola
Rating: two stars (out of four)

This was a nice book that portrayed what Christmas might have looked like a long time ago.  I liked how Tomie drew the pictures and how sweet the family was about helping and getting ready for the celebration of Christmas.  I would recommend.


Book Review #815
Alice Nizzy Nazzy by Tony Johnston, illustrated by Tomie dePaola
Rating: one star (out of four)

This story would have been interesting, but I felt like some pieces were missing.  I liked the concept, but there were elements that needed some details to make the story more well-rounded.  I did enjoy Tomie's illustrations.  I probably wouldn't recommend though.


Book Review #814
So Happy! by Kevin Henkes, illustrated by Anita Lobel
Rating: one star (out of four)

I think there was a point to this story, but I didn't get it.  The idea was an interesting premise, but I didn't see how everything connected and was a little annoyed with how the story progressed.  The pictures were okay, but not anything that I would want to look at for hours on end.  I was not impressed with this book and would not recommend.


Book Review #813
An Extraordinary Egg by Leo Lionni
Rating: two stars (out of four)

Parts of this book made me smile and I was amused at the little frogs'  "knowledge" of the mysterious egg.  I liked how the story progressed, but thought the ending was a little forced and felt sorry for Jessica.  I would probably still recommend though.


Book Review #812
Mr. McMouse by Leo Lionni
Rating: one star (out of four)

I'm not really sure how this book got published.  The story felt really disjointed and the ending totally threw me for a loop.  I had expected something vastly different and was left completely unsatisfied.  I would have liked more closure.  I would not recommend this book.


Book Review #811
The Princess Knight by Cornelia Funke, illustrated by Kerstin Meyer
Rating: three stars (out of four)

Reading this book put a smile on my face.  I loved how the princess took her future into her own hands and showed that she was a strong person who could make decisions for herself.  She proved to be quite capable of making up her own mind.  I especially loved the ending, it was a sweet and simple.  I would recommend.


Book Review #810
Princess Pigsty by Cornelia Funke, illustrated by Kerstin Meyer
Rating: two stars (out of four)

While I did enjoy seeing the antics of this fed-up princess, there were parts that were slightly unbelievable.  The ending was rather neatly wrapped up as well.  But still, I did like how the youngest princess handled her dilemma and the illustrations captured her moods nicely.  I might recommend if you liked off-the-wall princess books.


Book Review #809
Pirate Girl by Cornelia Funke, illustrated by Kerstin Meyer
Rating: two stars (out of four)

This was an amusing pirate tale.  I liked how the story didn't go the way you'd imagine it going, but it still kept you entertained.  The spirited little girl was a spunky character who I enjoyed seeing interact with the band of ruthless pirates.  The ending was a tad bit random, but still interesting.  I might recommend.