Saturday, August 23, 2008



Book Review #323
I Am Not Sleepy And I Will Not Go To Bed by Lauren Child
Rating: two stars (out of four)

Typical Lauren Child book.  I love the humor she adds into the smallish details, making it entertaining for children and adults.  This book made me smile, I would recommend it.

Thursday, August 21, 2008



Book Review #322
Lord Of The Flies by William Golding
Rating: zero stars (out of four)

The first couple pages of this book were pretty exciting, they made me want to keep reading.  But after those inital pages, things took a sudden turn for the worst and it just kept going downhill from there.  I did not appreciate the violence in this book.  There seemed to be horror, killing and bloodshed around every corner.  I think the author was going for some sort of shock value that would stir you to act for the better good of human kind after reading this book.  But I just felt sick to my stomach and had a sudden aversion to pigs when I was finished.  I did not enjoy this book in the least.  I was dismayed at the ending and thought it was overall too violent and gruesome.  I would not recommend this book, and I cannot see why it is a classic.  


Book Review #321
God's Gift To Women by Eric Ludy
Rating: two stars (out of four)

I thought this book had some top-notch advice and suggestions in it.  I also liked how fired up Eric Ludy was for his cause.  And while I thought this book would be an excellent tool for some people, it just didn't totally wow me or knock me off my feet.  Maybe it was because this book was written from a guy's perspective for guys, and I'm not a guy.  I thought it had a good message though and would recommend it to young men.


Book Review #320
Sticking With Your Teen by Joe White and Lissa Halls Johnson
Rating: three stars (out of four)

This compact little book is filled with advice and technique to talk to and get to know your teen.  Whether you've let your relationship slide over the past couple of months or you haven't been talking for years, this book offers a way to help bridge the gap.  I thought this was a relevant message that a lot of parents need to hear, but don't get around to listening too because they think that it is solely the teen's fault or they are just to busy to listen.  This book is written as a tool to help parents better understand and appreciate their teen and open up the channels of communication.  I'd recommend this book, it had sound advice, quotes from frustrated teens and their parents and was filled with godly principles.

Wednesday, August 20, 2008



Book Review #319
Big Knitting by Sophie Britten
Rating: one star (out of four)

The knitting patterns in this book aren't anything out of the ordinary or obviously unique, but what they lack in originality they make up for in yarn variety.  Leafing through this book I was disappointed that most of the sweaters were not modeled, but just layed out on a hanger.  I really appreciate it when the book has pictures of the knitted items on people, then I can get a sense for what it looks like on a person.  Overall, not my favorite knitting book, but it had a couple interesting patterns, I didn't find anything that I wanted to knit though.

Book Review #318
Why War Is Never A Good Idea by Alice Walker, illustrations by Stefano Vitale
Rating: two stars (out of four)

I'm not sure I approve of this book being categorized as a children's book.  While I don't think that children's books should always be cheery and silly, I don't think that they should cross the line and become frightening or haunting, which I thought this book was.  I would not read this book out loud to a child, it is slightly depressing and one page of illustrations is especially scary.  This book had an agenda to push and that was slightly annoying, because children won't get that.  The illustrations were very striking for this book, when they weren't dark.  Probably not a book I'd recommend.


Book Review #317
On Beyond Zebra by Dr. Seuss
Rating: three stars (out of four)

This whimsical book made me smile, I loved all the craziness and kookiness that only Dr. Seuss can come up with and get away with.  This book is very clever and will delight any imaginative child who wants to go beyond Z.


Book Review #316
Nine Days To Christmas by Marie Hall Ets and Aurora Labastida, illustrated by Marie Hall Ets
Rating: one star (out of four)

While I thought that this was a good look at another culture's traditions, I didn't find myself particularly interested in this story.  I'd probably recommend this book, but again, it wasn't terribly fascinating or entertaining.


Book Review #315
Thy Friend, Obadiah by Brinton Turkle
Rating: one star (out of four)

The only reason this book has such a low rating is that I didn't find myself overly interested in the story.  I thought that the illustrations were nice and the story fairly straightforward, but I definitely don't see myself buying this book anytime soon.


Book Review #314
On Market Street by Arnold Lobel, illustrated by Anita Lobel
Rating: three stars (out of four)

The pictures for this book were quite unique, I can easily see a child staring at the illustrations for hours.  I myself, was quite fascinated with the drawings.  The story was simple and sweet, leaving room for you to marvel at the illustrations.  I'd recommend this book.

Book Review #313
The Fox Went Out On A Chilly Night by Peter Spier
Rating: one star (out of four)

This story was very interesting, I'm not sure how well it would have survived if it had been published today.  I thought that the idea of taking an old song and turning it into a children's picture book was a nice idea, but to me, it just didn't fly over very well.  I was slightly annoyed with having to repeat the same line over again on the next page.  Not a book that I'm planning on reading again.


Book Review #312
Always Room For One More by Sorche Nic Leodhas, illustrated by Nonny Hogrogian
Rating: one star (out of four)

I found it kind of hard to read this book, the text and rhymes have a scottish lilt and I can't imagine trying to read this out loud.  The illustrations were very interesting for this book, but I can't say that I really liked them.  I probably wouldn't recommend this book, it just didn't do anything for me.


Book Review #311
The Amazing Bone by William Steig
Rating: one star (out of four)

While I did enjoy looking at the bright and cheery (for the most part) pictures of this book, I was a little dismayed at this story line.  It seemed awfully convenient the way things worked out, and it was terribly random.  I'm not sure I'd recommend this book, it was slightly strange and a little bit weird.


Book Review #310
Three Jovial Huntsmen by Susan Jeffers
Rating: zero stars (out of four)

I did not like this book at all, the illustrations were okay at best and I couldn't get over how tediously annoying the story line was.  I was glad that the huntsmen were in such a good mood, but reading this book did not make me "jovial".


Book Review #309
Mei Li by Thomas Handforth
Rating: one star (out of four)

I thought that the illustrations for this book were nice, I enjoyed looking at them.  The story, however, was difficult to follow.  It went around in meaningless circles and I soon grew annoyed with it's meandering attitude.  I didn't feel for any of the characters and wondered what the whole point of this story was.  I wouldn't recommend this book.


Book Review #308
The Treasure by Uri Shulevitz
Rating: two stars (out of four)

The illustrations for this book really caught my eye, I couldn't help but like the way they were set up on the page, not fully covering it, but more like artwork in a gallery.  The story was pretty simple, but its unique plot twist at the end was unexpected and pleasantly surprising.  I'd recommend this book.


Book Review #307
Fables by Arnold Lobel
Rating: three stars (out of four)

I remember this book from my childhood, I don't recall the stories or their morals, but I distinctly remember the pictures and how they accurately and sometimes humorously portrayed the little story.  I really liked this book, some of the morals are a little bizarre, but most ring true.  I'd recommend this book.

Tuesday, August 19, 2008



Book Review #306
Hubert Horatio Bartle Bobton-Trent by Lauren Child
Rating: two stars (out of four)

Humor is definitely one of Lauren Child's strong points, it is one of the reasons I find her books so enjoyable.  She can take an ordinary sentence and tweak it just a little and make it something that you will sit there reading with a smirk on your face.  This book was amusing, but it wasn't my favorite, I found myself entertained, but I'm not planning on reading it over and over again.


Book Review #305
The Princess And The Pea by Lauren Child
Rating: three stars (out of four)

I rather like the way Lauren Child tells a tale, she adds just the right amount of humor and asides that you can't help but be fully delighted when reading her book.  I thought that the illustrations were very interesting and I loved some of the pictures of the Real Princess, you could see her exact mood by the way she had her toes pointed just so.  I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would definitely recommend it to anyone.


Book Review #304
Looking For Alaska by John Green
Rating: zero stars (out of four)

Miles is sent off to a boarding school in Alabama and isn't quite sure what to expect, then he befriends Alaska, a crazy, wild girl who just so happens to be drop-dead gorgeous.  

Being especially wary of this book because I had already attempted to read it in the past, I told myself that maybe I didn't read it with an open mind, after all, it had won the Printz Award.  But to my huge disappointment, I discovered that I had been correct in my previous judgement.  This book was filled with questionable and inappropriate content.  Drinking, swearing, sex, all of these had quite large parts in this novel and I was severally annoyed with how much adult content was in this book, it was total filth.  If this was a movie I have no doubt it would be rated R.  I was not impressed with the characters, they were shallow and underdeveloped.  I never cared for them, I was only wanting them to grow up.  I would never recommend this book.

Monday, August 18, 2008



Book Review #303
Romanic Hand Knits by Annie Modesitt
Rating: two stars (out of four)

I couldn't help but admire the way this book was put together, the photographs were vividly bright and I loved all the colors.  This book is very hip and I thought that the way it was set up on the pages was refreshing.  I found several of the patterns quite fetching and wanted to start knitting right away, but I'm going to save this book for future reference until I have enough yarn/time.  The only thing that I found annoying was the way the knitted items were modeled.  While I thought that most of the photographs in this book were astounding, some I thought needed just a tad bit more clothing, either over or under, if you get my drift.  While I thought that this book did an excellent job of being throughly modern and hip, I felt like I was reading a teen fashion magazine with the immodesty of some of the models.  Still, I would probably recommend this book, only adding a caution to not stare too closely at some of the designs.


Book Review #302
A Man Worth Waiting For by Jackie Kendall
Rating: three stars (out of four)

Jackie Kendall did an excellent job of bringing a biblical message to the single woman of today who so often settle for less and aren't willing to wait for what God's best.  I found her advice helpful and straightforward.  Sometimes she would be awfully abrupt and tell it exactly as it is, even if it might be hard to hear.  This book has a message that every girl should hear and I only wish that the young women of today knew what was in this book.  A book I'd recommend, but not one I'm planning on pouring over again and again to seek its advice.

Sunday, August 17, 2008



Book Review #301
An Abundance Of Katherines by John Green
Rating: zero stars (out of four)

Colin has only dated girls who's name is Katherine, not with a C, but spelled with a K.  He has also been dumped by only Katherines', 19 to be precise.  He has just been dumped by K-19 (as he has labeled her) and can hardly stand it.  That is, until he thinks that maybe there is a mathematic formula for dating that can predict who is going to get dumped...suddenly, his life has meaning again.

I found the characters in this novel especially sleazy and pathetic.  I could not bring myself to like them because of the way they acted and how they treated others.  I cannot abide language or profanity that is thrown around in a novel like confetti, landing where it may.  I was very annoyed and sometimes even mad at the amount of swearing that this book used, it was unacceptable.  I don't understand how people could like this book, the character were not worth a dime and I was constantly annoyed by anything that popped out of the best friend's mouth.  The plot was lame and didn't catch my attention at all, I was never wondering what would happen next, I was simply ready for the stupid story to finally end.  I am really not sure why I bothered to finish it in the first place.  Do not read this book, it is a complete waste of time and you will be sorry.  I know John Green gets a lot of adoration, but I really can't see why, all the novels I've read of his are extremely sleazy/have inappropriate content and the characters are unrealistic and unlovable.  I don't think I will ever attempt to read a book of his again.  And I would advise you not to as well.


Book Review #300
Take My Hand by Robin Jones Gunn
Rating: two stars (out of four)

Ah!  The ending to Sierra Jensen's adventure-filled life.  I enjoyed seeing how things turned out in the end, especially with Paul.  I will probably read more books by Robin Jones Gunn because of this series and the Christy Miller series.  I'd recommend to fans of Robin Jones Gunn.

Friday, August 15, 2008



Book Review #299
Closer Than Ever by Robin Jones Gunn
Rating: two stars (out of four)

I was pretty shocked with how things were going in this book.  I hadn't really expected something this drastic, but I was still interested to see how Sierra would handle everything.  I enjoyed reading this book and was glad when it ended nicely after all.  I would recommend to people who had read the Christy Miller series.


Book Review #298
Hold On Tight by Robin Jones Gunn
Rating: two stars (out of four)

I liked reading about Sierra Jensen and her latest drama.  I thought she did a pretty good job of handling the situation, if not learning a couple lessons along the way.  I'd recommend to people who were fans of Robin Jones Gunn.


Book Review #297
Now Picture This by Robin Jones Gunn
Rating: two stars (out of four)

I thought this book had some applicable guidelines for modern day teens and relationships.  I often see young people who are so caught up in their relationship that they can hardly stand to think about anything else.  Sierra Jensen slowly sees how consuming her relationship is and I liked seeing how she solved the problem.  I'd recommend to people who had read the Christy Miller series.


Book Review #296
Time Will Tell by Robin Jones Gunn
Rating: two stars (out of four)

I've enjoyed reading about the life of Sierra Jensen and always look forward to the next stage.  I did like how she had to trust God and accept what he was giving her in this book.  I'd recommend this book to fans of Robin Jones Gunn.


Book Review #295
Open Your Heart by Robin Jones Gunn
Rating: two stars (out of four)

I liked how Christy played a big part in this book, seeing her through the eyes of Sierra was also pretty cool.  I enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it to fans of the Christy Miller series.

Thursday, August 14, 2008



Book Review #294
Ox-Cart Man by Donald Hall, illustrated by Barbara Cooney
Rating: three stars (out of four)

This book was really sweet, the illustrations were lovely and homey, plus I loved all the details of how hard this family worked to make a living.  I really enjoyed this book, it was simple, but profound.  Definitely something I would recommend.


Book Review #293
The Fool Of The World And The Flying Ship by Arthur Ransome, illustrated by Uri Shulevitz
Rating: two stars (out of four)

This book was pretty interesting, I was reading along wondering how on earth it was all going to work out in the end.  It is a fairly predictable beginning (feed the random stranger you meet up on the side of the road and they will give you some awesome gift) with a nice twist at the end.


Book Review #292
Jumanji by Chris Van Allsburg
Rating: one star (out of four)

I did not care for this book, I thought that it went by a little too fast and even though it did give the children quite a scare I didn't see the whole point of the book.  The illustrations were pretty cool, I liked the detailed expressions of the animals and people.  This isn't a book that I'd want to read again though.


Book Review #291
Ben's Trumpet by Rachel Isadora
Rating: two stars (out of four)

I really liked the illustrations for this book, they were different and unique.  The story line wasn't as interesting, and because of that I had to give this book just two stars.


Book Review #290
The Contest by Nonny Hogrogian
Rating: zero stars (out of four)

I am appalled that this is a children's book, what kind of morals are we trying to teach our children? Corruptness and thievery?  The girl in this story was absolutely not worth anything, the way she used those two robbers.  I can't believe that this book won the Caldecott Honor.  I did not like this story, it is a horrible example of children's literature and I would never recommend it to anyone.


Book Review #289
Sylvester And The Magic Pebble by William Steig
Rating: two stars (out of four)

The illustrations for this book were nice, and I liked the way they were drawn.  The moral of the story was a good one, if not a little harsh, but I did enjoy reading this book.  


Book Review #288
Jambo Means Hello by Muriel Feelings, illustrated by Tom Feelings
Rating: two stars (out of four)

The illustrations for this book were really quite wonderful, I loved looking at the pictures and the people.  There really wasn't much of a story for this book, but I did enjoy learning words from a different language.  I'm not too sure how interested a child would be in this book, but I'd recommend it.


Book Reviews #287
Freight Train by Donald Crews
Rating: three stars (out of four)

My favorite aspect of this book was the bright colors, I loved how they blurred together in the illustrations, showing how fast the train was going.  This book is fairly simple, but still interesting enough for a child, I really enjoyed it and would recommend it.


Book Review #286
With This Ring by Robin Jones Gunn
Rating: two stars (out of four)

I liked this book, the atmosphere was pretty nice and the interaction between all the characters was often amusing and endearing.  I'd recommend to teens who had enjoyed the Christy Miller series.


Book Review #285
Without A Doubt by Robin Jones Gunn
Rating: two stars (out of four)

I've enjoyed reading the adventures of Sierra Jensen thus far, and this book was no different.  I'd recommend this book to fans of the Christy Miller series.


Book Review #284
Close Your Eyes by Robin Jones Gunn
Rating: two stars (out of four)

An overall enjoyable book, I liked seeing how Sierra could manage to get herself into this situations where she would have to think her way through.  I liked this series and pretty much whipped through the whole lot of them.  I would recommend to fans of the Christy Miller series.


Book Review #283
Don't You Wish by Robin Jones Gunn
Rating: two stars (out of four)

This was a pretty interesting book, I liked the interaction between Sierra and her older sister.  Even though it was sometimes a little stressful, I liked the change it brought to the book.  I also liked seeing characters from the Christy Miller books.  I would recommend if you were a fan of Robin Jones Gunn.


Book Review #282
In Your Dreams by Robin Jones Gunn
Rating: two stars (out of four)

Follow along with Sierra as she tries to figure out how to live comfortably in this new town.  This book was pretty enjoyable, I thought it was interesting to see the world through Sierra's point of view.  I would recommend to fans of the Christy Miller series.


Book Review #281
Only You, Sierra by Robin Jones Gunn
Rating: two stars (out of four)

I started reading this book and was amazed at the similarities between me and Sierra, we had a couple aspects that were exactly alike.  But there were other parts of her character that I was nothing like, but I was still surprised.  I enjoyed reading this book and would recommend to fans of the Christy Miller series.


Book Review #280
A Promise Is Forever by Robin Jones Gunn
Rating: two stars (out of four)

Ah!  The final installment in the Christy Miller Series (not to worry die-hard fans, you can still read about Christy's comings and goings in the Sierra Jensen Series.)  I was very interested to see how Robin Jones Gunn would wrap up the series.  I was surprised, but still happy with how things turned out.  It wasn't the super-happy everything is going to be alright ending, but it didn't leave you wondering what would happen next.  I enjoyed reading this "light" series and immediately started on the Sierra Jensen series.


Book Review #279
Sweet Dreams by Robin Jones Gunn
Rating: two stars (out of four)

I am always interested in seeing what Christy Miller will have thrown into her life next.  And I must admit that I kind of "tore" through this series because they were so short and I wanted to see how everything would turn out in the end.

Saturday, August 9, 2008



Book Review #278
A Time To Cherish by Robin Jones Gunn
Rating: two stars (out of four)

Christy Miller has such a way of going through life that you can't help but want to come along for the ride and to see what will happen next.  While I don't think these books are the most excellent books I've ever read, I still enjoy seeing what Christy and her friends are up too, and I am always wanting to know how things will work out with the ever elusive Todd.


Book Review #277
Seventeen Wishes by Robin Jones Gunn
Rating: two stars (out of four)

Another light-hearted read about the lovable Christy Miller.  I don't know how Christy manages to get herself into some of these situations.  Seems hindsight is always better.  There were a couple parts of this book that I thought were a bit unrealistic, but I still enjoyed reading it and of course, I always want to know what is going to happen next.


Book Review #276
Starry Night by Robin Jones Gunn
Rating: two stars (out of four)

Robin Jones Gunn is pretty good at taking a couple months in the life of Christy Miller and turning it into a book-wide-saga where Christy is wrestling some decision and must come to turns with herself.  I enjoy reading these books and would probably recommend to girls who are fans of light reads with a spiritual message.


Book Review #275
True Friends by Robin Jones Gunn
Rating: two stars (out of four)

These books are really pretty enjoyable, if not a little predictable at some points.  But I still like reading about Christy Miller and how she manages to stumble through life and come out okay in the end.  I felt a little sorry for Katie in this book and thought she was just a tad bit under-treated by Christy.



Book Review #274
Llama Llama Mad At Mama by Anna Dewdney
Rating: three stars (out of four)

Oh my goodness!  This book just makes you smile and laugh in a giddy sort of manner.  The little llama's antics are quite funny and you can't help but feel for the mama llama as she tries to grocery shop.  I absolutely adore the illustrations for this book.  I would definitely recommend this book.